About     PressRelease


ARLINGTON, Texas - Four-time United States Bowling Congress Open Championships winner Jeff Richgels, former Women's International Bowling Congress Executive Director Roseann Kuhn and four-time Professional Women Bowlers Association champion Cheryl Robinson have been elected to the USBC Hall of Fame by the USBC Hall of Fame Committee.

The induction ceremony will take place July 1 at the Gaylord Texan Resort and Convention Center in Grapevine, Texas, and will include those elected from the national superior performance ballots.

On the men's ballot are Del Ballard Jr., Keller, Texas; David Husted, Milwaukie, Ore.; Amleto Monacelli, Barquisimeto, Venezuela; David Ozio, Beaumont, Texas; Wayne Webb, Columbus, Ohio.; and Tom Baker, King, N.C. The women's ballot has Dede Davidson, Buellton, Calif., and Carol Gianotti, Perth, Australia.

Richgels, 48, a right-hander from Oregon, Wis., was chosen in the new Outstanding USBC Performance category, which was created to recognize efforts by bowlers in USBC championship events. He had previously appeared on the superior performance ballot nine times.

Robinson, 59, of Placentia, Calif., was elected in the Veterans category, while the 62-year-old Kuhn, of Hays, Kan., was chosen in the Meritorious Service division.

Richgels broke through with his first USBC Open Championships win in the 1986 team event. In 1997, he won the all-events title, becoming the first and only bowler to roll 90 clean frames in the event's history. He also won the doubles and team all-events titles in 2005.

"I didn't feel totally deserving to get in the Hall of Fame on the superior performance ballot and to be the inaugural member of this category is something I cherish an amazing amount," said Richgels, a 29-time Professional Bowlers Association regional winner who was a member of Team USA in 1985 after winning the U.S. Team Trials. "I always hoped there would be a category to recognize those of us who weren't at the level of players like Norm Duke and Dick Weber but still did something pretty special and unique."

Kuhn joined the staff of the Women's International Bowling Congress in 1974 as a field representative. She worked her way up to executive director in 1996, a position she held until the formation of USBC in 2005 when she became USBC's Chief Tournament Officer.

"I'm really humbled by this, just really humbled," said Kuhn, who was instrumental in the merger of WIBC, the American Bowling Congress, Young American Bowling Alliance and USA Bowling to create USBC. "You don't get where you are without the help of a lot of people, and so many people have helped me along the way. I want to thank everyone over the years who had a hand in helping me."

Robinson was an impact player on the PWBA Tour when she won all four of her titles between 1972 and 1978. She also won seven Worldwide Women Professional Bowlers titles between 1971 and 1982.

"It's really an honor, and I'm just thrilled to death," said Robinson, who also won the 1980 all-events title at the WIBC Championship Tournament and finished second at the 1980 WIBC Queens. "This was totally unexpected. I feel like an emotional wreck. I'm just overwhelmed."

For more information on the USBC Hall of Fame, visit BOWL.com/hof.

United States Bowling Congress

The United States Bowling Congress, as the national governing body, ensures the integrity and protects the future of the sport, provides programs and services to more than two million adult and youth members and enhances the bowling experience.

The interactive home of USBC is BOWL.com. Go to twitter.com/USBC for the fastest USBC headlines.

Internships|Mission Statement|Press Room|Board of Trustees|Financials|Newsletter | Privacy Statement | Terms Of Use | Login
Copyright 2009 Bowling Hall of Fame and Museum